Al Ahly into #CAFCL last 16 after goalless draw with Bidvest | VIDEO

Al Ahly into #CAFCL last 16 after goalless draw with Bidvest | VIDEO

Al Ahly garbed a spot in the CAF Champions League group stage after beating Bidvest Wits 1-0 on agg.

A draw in South Africa was enough to lift Al Ahly to the next round of the CAF Champions League.

Al Ahly looked lively in the opening exchanges, although they struggled to carve out chances in the final third.

Gavin Hunt’s charges took control of the match after the 20-minute mark, as their midfielders started seeing more the ball.

However, chances were hard to come by for both sides, particularly Wits, who needed to win in order to secure progression to the next round.

Phakamani Mahlambi and Gabadinho Mhango looked lively in the early stages, but looked frustrated as the half went on.

Ekramy came to Al Ahly’s rescue in the 81st minute, as he was well-positioned to deal with Rodgers’ towering header.

|| Advertisement ||
Download App for Free
Android app on Google Play

Al Ahly nearly put the tie beyond Wits, but they hit the upright through Gamal, who only had Moeneeb Josephs to beat,

Nonetheless, the score remained 0-0 at the full time whistle, as Al Ahly win the tie 1-0 on aggregate.

Bidvest best chance:

Match Facts:

FT: Bidvest Wits 0-0 Ahly
Yellow cards: Hossam Ashour 22′, Ali Maaloul 71′, Ahmed Fathi 87′

Starting lineups:

Bidvest Wits: Moeneeb Josephs, Nazeer Allie, Bongani Khumalu, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti, Gabadinho, Mhango, Granwald Scott, Thabang Monare, Daine Klate

Al Ahly: Sherif Ekramy, Ali Maaloul, Saad Samir, Ahmed Hegazy, Mohamed Hani, Hossam Ashour, Ahmed Fathi, Amr El-Sulaya (Saleh Gomaa 79′), Walid Soliman (Ahmed Hamoudi 70′), Abdallah El-Said (Rami Rabia 75′), Amr Gamal

Interview with Hossam El Badry after the match:

Ekramy was the star of the match with amazing saves:



Check Also

Live: Aswan v Al Ahly | Egyptian League 04-16-2017

Live: Aswan v Al Ahly | Egyptian League 04-16-2017 Match K.O. at 21:15 Cairo Local ...

Copyright 2008-2017