Title: English Premier League – History, Betting Odds, and More

The Premier League, often known as the English Premier League, is the top level of the English Football League System. Established in 1992, the English Premier League is the most-watched football league in the world. 

The 2021–22 Premier League is the 30th season of the Premier League since its establishment. At the time of writing, Chelsea is leading the board with 26 pts. Manchester City won the 2020–21 Premier League, which was the 29th season of the Premier League. It was their fifth premier league win.

The 2021-2022 Premier League is seeing full capacity crowds as the final third of the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 seasons were held with limited to no crowds due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Let’s talk more about English Premier League winners and history. 

English Premier League – Clubs 

The league comprises 20 clubs, including Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brentford, Brighton and Hove Albion, Burnley, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Everton, Leeds United, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Norwich City, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, Watford, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers. 

During the first year of establishment, 22 clubs fought each other. Currently, the 20 clubs play a total of 38 matches in the home and away match format. Over the years, 40 clubs have participated in the Premier League, out of which only seven have won the UK Premier title. The winning teams include Manchester United, Blackburn Rovers, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City, Leicester City, and Liverpool.  

If we get into the technicals, a total of 380 matches are played in the tournament. Three points are awarded for a win, one point for a draw, and none for a defeat. The team with the most points wins the title. 

English Premier League – History 

The first match of the 1992 Premier League was played between Manchester United and Sheffield United, and Sheffield United defeated Manchester United by 2-1.

The team that played the first-ever Premier League were Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, and Wimbledon. 

English Premier League – Champions

  • Manchester United has won 13 titles (1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1996/97, 1998/99, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2010/11 & 2012/13). 
  • Chelsea has five times in 2004–05, 2005–06, 2009–10, 2014–15, 2016–17.
  • Manchester City won the title five times in 2011–12, 2013–14, 2017–18, 2018–19, 2020–21. 
  • Arsenal won three times in 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04. 
  • Blackburn Rovers won once in 1994–95.
  • Leicester City won once in 2015–16.
  • Liverpool won once in 2019–20.
1992–93Manchester United
1993–94Manchester United
1994–95Blackburn Rovers
1995–96Manchester United
1996–97Manchester United
1998–99Manchester United
1999–00Manchester United
2000–01Manchester United
2002–03Manchester United
2006–07Manchester United
2007–08Manchester United
2008–09Manchester United
2010–11Manchester United
2011–12Manchester City
2012–13Manchester United
2013–14Manchester City
2015–16Leicester City
2017-18Manchester City
2018-19Manchester City
2020-21Manchester City 

English Premier League – Fun Facts

  • Ryan Giggs is the only player who has appeared in all 21 seasons of his career and was the first to win consecutive PFA Young Player of the Year awards in 1992 and 1993. He currently serves as the manager of the Whales national team.


  • Manchester United has won the PL title 13 times, most by any club. Additionally, the club has won the most divisional titles with 20, in addition to the 21 FA Community Shields. The club has won 11 FA Cups and 3 European Cups.


  • The title of most “Consecutive Wins” has also been won by Manchester United with three consecutive wins in (1998/99-2000/01 & 2006/07-2008/09). 


  • Manchester City held the record for the biggest winning margin when they finished 19 points ahead of second-placed Manchester United in the 2017-18 season. In the same season, they managed to score a record of 106 goals. At number two stands Liverpool with an 18 point gap in 2019-20. 

English Premier League – Betting 

The Premier League is hands down the most watched and popular football league in the world. A good number of matches have been played, but there are many league-deciding matches coming up. According to the 2021-22 Premier League winner odds, Manchester City, Liverpool, or Chelsea might lead the scoreboard. 

The English Premier League began on 13th August, Friday, and will end on 22nd May 2020, Sunday. If you plan on betting on the English Premier League, there are many comparison tools available online that you can check to secure the top odds among the leading bookies. With every passing day, experts are picking the top names to win the 2021–22 Premier League.

Gamble responsibly. Contact the Gambling Helpline for free and confidential support, information and counselling on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our website by disabling your ad-blocker, our site is always free and we don't allow pop-ups or any annoying ads on nilesports.com

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.