Egypt’s preliminary squad for 2021 AFCON REVEALED

Egypt coach Carlos Queiroz has announced on Sunday a 40-man preliminary squad for the 2021 African Cup of Nations scheduled to be held in Cameroon between 9 January and 6 February.

According to a statement by the Egyptian Football Association (EFA), the final 23-man squad will be announced by the end of December.

In their bid to win a record-extending eighth African Nations Cup, Egypt will play in Group D of the biennial tournament alongside Nigeria, Sudan, and minnows Guinea-Bissau.

The Pharaoh’s key midfielder Tarek Hamed is the prominent absentee in the preliminary squad as the Zamalek star remains an unfavorite choice for Queiroz who also excluded him from the recent FIFA Arab Cup. On Saturday, Egypt ended the Arab Cup at fourth place after losing 5-4 on penalties to hosts Qatar following a drab goalless draw.

The Portuguese coach Queiroz also dropped Smouha winger, Hussein Faisal who was one of his key elements at the Arab Cup, meanwhile, Ghazl El-Mahalla’s defender Mohamed Fathallah got his first international call up in Sunday’s announced squad by former Portugal and Colombia coach.

Egypt’s 40-man preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Mohamed El-Shennawy (Ahly), Mohamed Fawzy (Ismaily), Mohamed Sobhy (Farco), Mahmoud Gad (Enppi)

Defenders: Ayman Ashraf (Ahly), Ahmed Fatouh (Zamalek), Ahmed Hegazy (Ittihad of Jeddah), Akram Tawfik (Ahly), Mahmoud ‘El-Wensh’ Hamdi (Zamalek), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek), Ahmed Yassin (NBE), Mohamed Hany (Ahly), Mohamed Abdel-Monem (Future FC), Mohamed Hamdy (Pyramids FC), Mohamed Fathallah (Ghazl El-Mahalla), Ahmed Ramadan Beckham (Smouha), Marawan Dawoud (Enppi)

Midfielders: Omar Kamal (Future FC), Amr El-Sulaya (Ahly), Mostafa Fathi (Zamalek), Mohamed Magdi “Afsha” (Ahly), Emam Ashour (Zamalek), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Ramadan Sobhy (Pyramids FC), Ahmed Sayed Zizo (Zamalek), Ibrahim Adel (Pyramids FC), Ahmed Refaat (Future FC), Nabil ‘Dunga’ Emad (Pyramids FC), Hamdy Fathy (Ahly), Mohanad Lasheen (Talae El-Geish)

Forwards: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Mostafa Mohamed (Galatasaray), Omar Marmoush (Stuttgart), Marwan Hamdy (Smouha), Ahmed “Kouka” Hassan (Konyaspor), Ahmed Yasser Rayyan (Altay), Mahmoud ‘Trezeguet’ Hassan (Aston Villa), Mohamed Sherif (Ahly).

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please support our website by disabling your ad-blocker, our site is always free and we don't allow pop-ups or any annoying ads on